Blog #3

The Most Important Education Technology in 200 Years

By Antonio Regaldo

           In the article The Most Important Education Technology in 200 years by Antonio Regaldo talk about how online education can affect learning. The author of this article asks the reader what they think the biggest innovation in education is. The author introduces Anant Agarwal, the computer scientist named this year to head edX. He believes that it is rare to see huge technological advances in how people learn. Agarwal also believes that education is going change dramatically. Technology is very powerful and now it is possible to stream video classes with interactive elements. These new technology elements can help make teaching more efficient and effective. Technology is going to determine what is going to happen in education in the future.

 

Q1: What is your opinion of the issue in the article? Agree or disagree? Why?

     My opinion of this issue presented in this article is that online course can be beneficial to certain types of people. I do agree with the article that technology is changing education but I am not sure that online is the more beneficial thing for students. I feel that not everyone can learn in the most efficient way by just sitting in front of the computer. I understand that there are activities and games on the computer that can help you understand concepts but come learners need hand-on activities. I believe certain types of learners need to be in an actual classroom setting rather than just taking a class online.

 

Q2: How will the issue help or hinder student learning?

     I have taken one online course before. I didn’t struggle but I would have probably learned more and got more out of the class if it wasn’t online. We had lots of articles and watched lots of videos. We also had to read the book and lecture notes every week. We did not have any videos of lecture so I had to under the topics on my own. I did not have the benefit of having a teaching to explain a concept. I would probably not be able to take an online math course or science course because I would not be able to understand the concepts on my own. I would need to do hand-on activities to be able to understand the specific concepts.

Leave a Reply

